Remuseletter Ten

Goals with Shomp, Last Night's Date

Remuseletter 010 ( ten!)

Goals with Shomp, Last Night’s Date

Reporting in live from baby raccoon pack,

Reporting in live from baby raccoon pack,

My fellow Remusers,

Ay man! And/or Lady.
Creatively inspired be! That’s an order!

Today, I want to share our vision for Shomp and a recent encounter that reminded me of the importance of authenticity and connection.

Shomp is a platform born out of a love for music and a desire to support musicians in the most meaningful way. Our goal is to create a space where artists can thrive, free from the constraints of traditional revenue models [0]. Shomp is a nonprofit registered in Denver and we are in the process of getting 501(c)(3) status, which will enable us to accept tax-deductible donations. Essentially, we aim to demonstrate that we can contribute to the community as effectively as tax dollars, but in our specific niche of music education and musician support.

Shomp.co is now accepting musician contributions and we plan on having a “launch success party” soon — stay tuned in to love.

We have just launched the site Shomp.co, and musicians are already uploading their music. The core functionality of offering tracks to premium subscribers before their release date is live and working.

Check out what’s recently been uploaded: Shomp Tracks Tiles.

Next steps: attract more musicians to the platform and encourage them to upload tracks!
Next next step: making a special (redacted, top secret).

Morning Encounter

This morning, I had the pleasure of meeting a new friend at the coffee shop. Our conversation was a refreshing reminder of the power of genuine human connection. We talked about everything from our favorite music to our latest projects, and I left feeling inspired and energized. These moments of authentic interaction fuel my passion for Shomp and Remuse, reminding me why we do what we do.

Last Night's Date

Now, for a more candid share. Last night, I invited someone to a film, and she brought along another man. He seemed to be cashing in on a debt, as I had once placed my hand on his ex-girlfriend's thigh. Although they were broken up at the time, apparently homie had a different idea of fairness. Being the overcurious feline that I am, I let him come along.

Movie theater popcorn is a special kind of yuck. Cardboard that requires valvoline-like lubricant to swallow—count me out. My “date” (more like “extractive freeloader” in retrospect) really "likes popcorn" and, at the movie, homie insisted on buying popcorn and chocolates.

It was nice to get some chocolate pretzels without having to move, but they were delivered to me somewhat aggressively: homie throws the chocolates at my abdomen and scratches my knee a little too prolong'edly to make sure I got the message. I’m grossed out now just thinking about it. It’s amazing, child-logic: man flirts with your ex successfully, you hijack your way on a casual date successfully, you imitate what the man did to your ex… on the man. Part of me wants to burst out laughing, part of me wants to always wear jeans and maybe body armor and chain mail from now on.

But alas, I digress. What sepulchrous outcome my own wrath had wrought: one extractive female, one vendettive male, and me, subject to my own frustration and now subject to another man caressing my leg, seemingly begging for me to decapitate him in the theater, presumably as a side-presentation to Deadpool’s immersion into the multiverse.

Not one to be held hostage to my own date night, when this person caressed my leg a little extra longly, I slowly reached across extractive female and, grabbing his knee, whispered loudly, "Thanks for the chocolates."

When I did this, he apologized for brushing my knee, to which I responded, "Fucking weird."

My comment cut through the normal scene of the movie, bringing a demure atmosphere to the theater that hadn't existed before. I felt bad. But alas, some lessons on etiquette and culture must be paid with comfort and atmosphere. Regrettably, as a leader, sometimes.

 🎼 In this Remuseletter we’re gonna look at some EDM classics, check out my Apple Music Playlist for the full experience

  • Untrue - Tchami

  • Chella Ride - Dog Blood

  • Lean On (ft. DJ Snake) - Major Lazer

  • Front to Back - Buku

  • Harambe (ft. Datsik) - Excision

  • See it When I Believe It (Edit) - Mat Zo

  • Don’t Let Me Down - Tchami

  • Odyssey - Barely Alive

  • Glass Planet - Aweminus

  • Lunatic - Mercer & DJ Snake

Plus, Ken Carson was just in town at the Mission Ballroom in Denver, so let’s enjoy that as well.

🎶 Jennifer’s Body — Ken Carson [Apple Music Link]

We’ve come up with some amazing breakthroughs regarding our publications. We’re so glad you’re on board with us. For premium members of Remuse, there’s amazing news: your reviews might be published around Denver once we start delivering our Remuseletter as a poster around town!

Yes, this very letter, in poster format, at critical points around the city of Denver, Colorado. What’s not to love about that?

In addition, our sister project Shomp, a nonprofit, is going to tackle helping bands flourish. And, as a matter of practicality, centrality, coordination, and smoothness, they are also starting with Denver.

Super stoked to have a couple of musical fires burning. It’s like musical chairs with nowhere to sit! You have to dance! 🪩

[0] By waiving revenue share on direct sales and functioning as a nonprofit, Shomp ensures that maximized proceeds go directly to the musicians. We offer high-quality streaming and downloadable files, with subscriptions for pre-release access and access to musical training materials for education and self-study starting at $4/mo. The premium subscriptions are shared with musicians each quarter. VIP subs get music 11 days early, ProPlusChat 7 days early, and Pro 4 days early. As a musician, when your track is discovered in the vital period by a paying subscriber, you get a multiplied share for the quarter.

Stay creatively inspired!